Rulings For Exodus

General Rulings For Exodus: 

Cost

- You don't pay a cost until the card triggers or begins resolving;

          - This means you can nullify or cancel out a symmetry or Ability that has a cost by playing cards in response that destroy their energy source; 

                    - i.e. If your opponent plays Vortex and they only have 1 energy on their field (which they are going to use to pay the cost), and you play a Cataclysm in response and destroy that energy, their Vortex will go straight to the graveyard without happening since there would be no energy to pay the cost.

                    - Likewise, if your opponent plays Unsummon on your only creature on the field, you may stack/play Reversion on your own creature to send it back to your hand. The opponent's Unsummon would then have no available targets and go straight to the graveyard without happening, and your opponent would not have to pay its cost. 

Playback Rule

- When a symmetry card or effect is played in response to your symmetry card, the card played most recently (card on top of the stack) happens first. Then, any remaining cards that must resolve experience Playback and may change targets if the owner chooses.

- Playback also happens when a creature is attacking and some other card effect causes a target to change or the state of the game to change. In this instance, Playback takes place and the attacking creature may change targets or stop attacking all together!

Instants and the Draw Phase

- Once you begin drawing during your Draw Phase, each player cannot play symmetry cards until you finish drawing because a player draws simultaneously from their Main Deck and Energy Deck; 

          - i.e. You can't play Forest of Crags during your Draw Phase if that's the first card you drew before drawing 2 more from the Main Deck;
          - i.e. You can't play Vortex in the middle of your opponent's Draw Phase after they draw Main Deck cards, but before they draw Energy cards or Vice Versa;

Deck Recycles

- A Deck Recycle is performed only when you need to draw (whether due to an effect or Ability or the Draw Phase) and your Main Deck has zero cards left;

Terminology

- If a card says, "Each player," it affects every player in the game (even in multiplayer), but if a card says, "your opponent," you choose the opponent to affect;

Creature Abilities

- When a creature is summoned and it has a "When this creature is summoned..." Ability, the opponent can play symmetry cards in response to the summon, thereby stacking over the summoned creature's Ability;

- Symmetry cards are instant-speed, while creature Abilities are not. However, a symmetry cannot be played in the middle of a creature's Ability as it is resolving;

          - i.e. If a Rare creature is summoned on a pile of 1 energy and the opponent uses a symmetry card in response to destroy that single energy, the creature would be immediately destroyed and its effect would not happen because it would not have any energy left before its Ability would trigger.

Field Tracking (What is Considered to be 'In-Play'?)

- The field only tracks what is "in-play". Cards in your hand, Main Deck, Energy Deck, and graveyard are NOT considered to be in-play;

- If under any circumstance a creature re-enters play due to an effect or otherwise, it "registers" as a new creature on the field and is able to attack again (even if it already attacked during that same turn before leaving play);

Timing & Speed of Resolution

- Timing is important because there is always a 'point-of-entry' or moment of activation for card effects or creature Abilities;

- Creature Abilities can stack just like Symmetry effects and are even treated as being in the same stack together when they each trigger and need to resolve at the same time;

- Symmetry card effects are faster and out-speed any creature Abilities;

- Once an Ability or effect has started to resolve, it is too late for any other Ability or effect to interrupt;

- What if I already declared an attack? Attacking is not an effect, it is an action that's part of a general Phase of a Turn. All symmetries are instant-speed and can interrupt normal gameplay;

Priority

There is no such thing as 'priority' when it comes to who is allowed to play symmetry cards first when multiple players wish to activate a card effect. By default, if cards are not being played as a response, whichever card hits the field first is the card that resolves first if it is not then responded to. A stack is automatically created when two or more symmetries are played on their own only second(s) apart, but they are NOT considered to be chained in the stack as a response to one another unless they were originally declared so.

However, a timing ruling comes into play when a card is placed on the field at the exact same moment by different players:

When a card is played and both players want to activate a symmetry in response such as both players' symmetries hitting the field at the same time, but in response to the original card and not each other, the turn player's symmetry gains priority. This timing ruling shall only be utilized in the case where there is no clear, definitive answer as to which player's card hit the table first. However, the non-turn player's symmetry does NOT go back to the hand and is instead considered to be 'on the stack' waiting to trigger and begin resolving. This is especially important for a scenario like: Turn-player activates Vortex ->Turn player plays Cryocrest Crags while the non-turn player simultaneously plays (not responds with) some kind of draw-power card like Glimpse of the Sanctuary or Crystal Bell which happens to be the last card in their hand. The turn player's Cryocrest Crags tries to resolve first, but fizzles out and goes to the graveyard since the non-turn player no longer has any cards left in his/her hand at that point. Then, the non-turn player's draw card will resolve. Finally, the turn player's Vortex will happen last and the game will continue as normal. Another possible scenario where the game's outcome could be greatly affected is an Energize from the turn-player while they only have a 1-energy creature on the field against the non-turn player's Cataclysm or Leech.

In every instance, the above ruling(s) will be applied to provide a clear solution where disputes arise.

Reveal

HOW DOES IT WORK? Card(s) are revealed when an Ability or effect uses the word "reveal" in its text. It is the act of card(s) being shown or made known to all players. Cards are generally revealed from zones that are hidden to one or more players like the hand or Main Deck.

- Cards cannot be revealed from the field or graveyard, as those areas are normally already viewable by all players;

- Players cannot simply choose to reveal a card; reveal is by Ability or effect only. EXAMPLE: A player can't voluntarily show a card in their hand to their opponent just to activate a "When this card is revealed..." effect;

Freeze

HOW DOES IT WORK? When a card is frozen, it is flipped face-down on the field. It remains frozen until the end of the owner's next available turn, unless otherwise specified. Most effects that induce freezing will specify the duration its target is frozen, but in the absence of clarification text, it should ALWAYS be assumed that the frozen card will unfreeze at the end of its owner's next turn.

- Frozen cards still retain all of their attributes (such as Type, Rarity, Ability, etc.); they are not ignored entirely. They can be viewed by players at any time;

- Continuous Abilities are still active while the creature is frozen; frozen creatures simply cannot attack;

- Frozen creatures can still be chosen by effects and attacked by opposing creatures; they still deal and receive damage normally if attacked or forced into battle by an effect;

- Can I target a frozen creature in play and freeze it again to reset the timer or to fulfill a requirement for a card effect? A: No, you cannot. You must select a creature that is not already frozen. Frozen cards can't be frozen again because they're already frozen. For this reason, overrides are not possible. It's up to the card's owner to remember if and when their card unfreezes.

- Can I put a creature on frozen energy? A: You can't summon a creature on a pile that is made up of any amount of frozen energy unless with a card effect.

- Can a frozen creature gain energy? A: Yes, but only by card effects or Abilities.

- Can I pay energy from a frozen creature? A: Yes, you can.

- Can I pay a cost with frozen energy? A: Yes, you can.

- What happens if a creature & all energy attached to it is previously frozen, but the creature unfreezes while its energy stays frozen (or vice-versa)? A: It's possible for one to become unfrozen while the other remains frozen. If the creature is unfrozen, it can attack, but any frozen energy attached is excluded as dealt damage during battle;


Lantern Leaflore

■ While this creature is on the field, it is unaffected by all symmetry cards (both yours and your opponent's). 

          ■ It is even unaffected by symmetry cards that don't target it, such as Cataclysm, or symmetry cards that affect every creature on the field in general;

          ■ If your opponent plays Cataclysm or Leech, targeting an energy attached to Lantern Leaflorethey may, "Select one energy from a creature or pile...", but since the energy attached to Leaflore is considered "from a creature", it can't be affected and therefore would not lose energy. 

          ■ When a symmetry card requires you to pay its cost, you cannot pay the cost from Lantern Leaflore. This is due to the fact that you must pay a cost from "a creature or pile" and this particular creature cannot be affected by any symmetry cards.

          ■ For the same reason you can't pay a card's cost from Lantern Leaflore, effects like that of Guild Warfare do not affect Leaflore as the energy is attached to Leaflore which isn't affected by symmetry cards;


Ethereal Aurorialis

■ When this creature attacks, it must always use its Ability--Transcendent Force. 

          ■ When declaring an attack using Ethereal Aurorialis, your opponent must choose to play or not play any cards in response before the top card of the deck is revealed;

          ■ By the time its Ability has triggered, it is too late for you or your opponent to activate any symmetry cards in response until after damage has                                                 been dealt. 


Cosmic Shield Archangel

■ When this creature is summoned, its Ability must trigger unless it is removed from the field in response to being summoned. 

          ■ You do not pay the energy cost for its Ability until it triggers;

          ■ Its effect says that players must only send a Rare creature from their field to the graveyard (attached energy remains in play);

          ■ If Archangel is summoned on a pile of 1 energy and you pay the cost from itself, the Ability is in the middle of resolving, so both players must send a Rare on the field to their graveyard. However, Archangel has no energy left and is immediately sent to the graveyard. In this case, it does not count as your Rare and you must select another Rare creature on your field to send to the graveyard if one is available. 


Crystal Command Andromeda

■ This creature's Ability acts the same as Freeze mechanically, but as it doesn't use the keyword "freeze", it doesn't count toward the freeze-count in play;


Vortex

■ When this card is played, both players can still stack symmetry cards in response before discarding their hand. 

          ■ Cards played in response to Vortex happen first;

          ■ If Vortex is played in response to a Vortex, players can continue playing symmetry by "adding to the stack" after the first Vortex has resolved because symmetry are all instant-speed; 

          Vortex can be played at the start or end of a player's Draw Phase, but not in the middle while they are still drawing;

■ What You Can't Do: You can't play a symmetry while another symmetry is resolving;

e.g. You can't play Forest of Crags if you drew it from a Vortex and have only drawn 2 of the 3 cards from Vortex


Leech

Leech is an all-or-nothing type of card; 

          ■ Because its effect is broken up into 2 sentences, the first effect can't happen unless the second is possible and vice-versa;

          ■ Leech cannot be used to start a new pile of energy; it must be added to an existing one;

■ Leech can be played in response to a "When this creature is summoned..." Ability and will stop the Ability if it destroys the creature's last energy; 


Victory, Keeper of the Order

Victory's Ability--Royal Decree makes all of your other Order creatures (besides herself) unable to be attacked by your opponent while she is on the field; 

          ■ If you have 2 Victory, Keeper of the Order on the field, your opponent cannot attack either one because of each affecting the other;

          ■  If you have 2 Victory, Keeper of the Order on the field, your opponent must destroy or remove a Victory, Keeper of the Order by other means (symmetry or creature Abilities) before they can attack your creatures;


Cloudburst Spiral

You do not need to have another card in your hand to discard in order to play Cloudburst Spiral;


Glimpse of the Sanctuary

Because both parts of this card's effect involve the word, "may", you do not have to add an energy to a blank pile in order to draw a card from your Main Deck;

          ■ Your opponent can add an energy to one of their blank piles either way, as long as they have blank pile(s) of energy on their field;


Apparition Grove

After you attack with creature A, then play Apparition Grove to switch creature A with creature B in your hand, creature B may attack since it is a new creature even though it is using the same pile of energy;

          ■ i.e. If your Princess of Blades attacks, then you use Apparition Grove to switch it with a Legendary Blade Luhzarus in your hand, Luhzarus may attack immediately. Then, you could also Pay 1 energy to trigger its Ability: Blade Barrage and have Luhzarus attack yet again;

Apparition Grove can be used on a Legendary Blade Luhzarus on your field to switch it with a second Legendary Blade Luhzarus in your hand to effectively attack 4 times per turn with the same pile of energy OR up to 6 times per turn if you have 2x Apparition Grove;

*Technical Ruling: The player must declare/show (not reveal because it does not trigger any "reveal" effects) the card that will be replacing the creature targeted by Apparition Grove. The player should be proactive by lowering the second card from their hand to the table while simultaneously lifting the creature that is targeted by Grove from the table to their hand; that way all players can see there are clearly 2 different cards being switched in/out of play.


Chains

Chains affects the player and does not target the creatures themselves;

          ■ i.e. Even if a player is 'chained', he or she still cannot attack with a Lantern Leaflore (even though Leaflore is unaffected by symmetry cards) because the player is unable to command the creature to execute the attack;

■ Chains only stops a player from attacking for that turn;

         Due to the wording "...it remains on the field until its effect has occurred", this card is considered to be resolved and goes to the graveyard after the chained player is done with their Attack Phase (upon entering End Phase);

■ If Chains is played in response to the opponent's Vortex during their End Phase (such as when Vortex unfreezes), Chains will be considered resolved and go the graveyard when the turn is over;

         ■ Due to the wording "If this card is played on your opponent's turn, they cannot attack during that turn", the effect is considered resolved upon completion of the End Phase regardless of whether or not the player attacked that turn; 


Crystallize

Crystallize cannot target or affect Lantern Leaflore;

On-summon creature Abilities (i.e. "When this creature is summoned...") can be negated by this card; after the end of the turn, the creature will already have been summoned and its on-summon Ability will not trigger if this card was played in response to the summon;


Starlit Expanse

Energy cannot be placed on top of the Main Deck with this effect;

          ■ Energy cards can't enter the Main Deck, so only a creature or symmetry card can be chosen by this card's effect;


Carcery the Chemical Oddity

When this creature enters play (whether by summon, symmetry effect, switch effect, etc.), its Ability triggers immediately, but symmetry cards can be played in response to its Ability before it begins resolving;

■ You must have at least 1 of all three Rarities (Common, Uncommon, Rare) on your field in order to blow up their energy and cause direct damage to your opponent's Life Points;

          ■ If you do not meet all of the conditions (i.e. missing only 1 Rarity), you lose 2 Life Points when this creature enters play;

          ■ You cannot use its energy-destruction effect if you do not meet all of the Ability's requirements;

■ The Energy Heartpulse Ability is an all-or-nothing effect: you can't pick and choose how many energy from each creature to explode for the effect;

          ■ If you have more than 1 creature of a certain Rarity in play when this Ability triggers, you may choose which of your creatures to use as part of this Ability's effect;

          ■ Due to the wording, you cannot choose multiple creatures of the same Rarity for this effect, it must be exactly one of each Rarity;

Carcery the Chemical Oddity can choose itself to meet the Rare requirement as part of its Ability since it is a 3-star Rare and it is counted as being 'in play' when it hits the table;


Mortarbloom Liege

The cards revealed by this creature's Ability are put back in the same order they are revealed;


Vanquish, Reverser of Time

If Vanquish's Ability Luminescent Chance is triggered due to being revealed by a creature Ability or card effect, the Ability or effect (the cause) must fully resolve (or as much as possible) before Luminescent Chance can begin to resolve;

While Luminescent Chance is resolving, you may select a card from the opponent's deck that is being revealed (such as by the Ability of Mortarbloom Liege) since card(s) being revealed from the Main Deck are still considered part of the Main Deck;


Handbell Dancer Gravitas

If this creature is put into play by a card effect (such as Nebulawood Barrier) which was played as a response to the activation of a creature Ability, Handbell Dancer Gravitas' Ability Silencing Toll will be on top of the stack or response chain, and if it resolves first, it will effectively cancel out or negate the original Ability that was trying to activate;

          ■ i.e. If the opponent's Emberia, Bringer of Infernos hits the field and you put Handbell Dancer Gravitas into play with a card effect (Nebulawood BarrierApparition Grove, etc.) in response to Emberia being summoned, Gravitas' Ability resolves first and would stop Emberia's Ability from activating for that turn; 

          ■ Any subsequent opposing Abilities that try to activate will not trigger on the same turn after Handbell Dancer Gravitas was put into play via an effect (including Lantern Leaflore's Ability after Silencing Toll has successfully resolved);

          ■ If the opponent is summoning or putting Lantern Leaflore into play and you respond with an effect that puts Handbell Dancer Gravitas into play, Leaflore's Ability will still be active since it already triggered and resolved when it hit the field;

Any creature Abilities that were already active before Handbell Dancer Gravitas came into play are still active as his Ability only stops future opposing creature Abilities from activating for the rest of the turn;


Guild Warfare

Guild Warfare can be used if you have 1 or more creatures in play;

          ■ ALL of your creatures in play must share a type (even if they are multiple types) to use its effect;
          ■ i.e. If you have a Drangel (Dragon/Angel) and a Portalback Dragon (Dragon) in play, you MAY use Guild Warfare. However, if you have a Drangel (Dragon/Angel), a Portalback Dragon (Dragon) and a Concerto Virtuoso (Order) in play, you CANNOT use Guild Warfare;











Return From Rulings For Exodus Page To The Home Page